FAQ of the seven wonders of the world



What are the 7 wonders of the ancient world?

They were all built between the third millennium and the third century. In the order of construction, there are:

The Pyramid of Cheops

The Hanging gardens of Babylon

The Statue of Zeus

The Temple of Artémis

The Mausoleum of Halicarnassus

The Colossus of Rhodes

The Lighthouse of Alexandria

In the initial list, written by Philo of Bystism in the 3rd century BC, there was not the lighthouse of Alexandria, which was not yet built, but in its place there were the Remparts of Babylon, which are more a part of it.

Why were the ramparts of Babylon removed from the list?

We do not know! it is not known when and why they were replaced by the Lighthouse of Alexandria. However, we know why this lighthouse came into the list, it is simply because it was built after the establishment of this list. This lighthouse so subdued people at the time that it was also considered one of the wonders. It should be noted that the lighthouse had a role of propaganda, it had to symbolize the power of Egypt and the fact that it is at the entrance of the main port of the country (if one can speak of country at that time) it was seen by most travelers in the world, so its popularity was rapid. The ramparts of Babylon, meanwhile, were gradually forgotten after the fall of the Babylonian Empire.

Learn more about the ramparts of Babylon.

Where are the 7 wonders of the world?

They are all in Mediterranean Europe or Asia Minor. Currently 2 are in Egypt, 2 are in Greece, 2 in Turkey, 1 in Iraq. Of course, at the time they were in different civilizations, depending on the time when they were built.

The pyramid of Kheops was built in ancient Egypt, while the lighthouse of Alexandria was built in ancient Egypt. The statue of Zeus was built in ancient Greece, as was the Mausoleum of Halicarnassus, in Caria, under Persian rule.

Learn more about the location of the 7 wonders.

Who wrote the list?

It is unknown, but it is attributed to Philo of Byzantium, a Greek author of the third century BC, who quoted earlier authors. His list was based on several other lists which he would have compiled. This document is known because there is a copy kept at the University of Heidelberg in Germany.

Lear more about: The document of Philon of Bysance.

What is the document of Philo of Byzantium?

It is a booklet of 7 pages written in Punic, a language lost today. He began with an introduction and then wrote a paragraph of about twenty lines for each wonder. Unfortunately the last page is lost, we do not have the description of the last monument inscribed, the Mausoleum of Halicarnassus.

Lear more about: The document of Philon of Bysance.

What are the 7 wonders of the modern world?

In 2007 a list of seven new wonders of the world was given. It was about :

The great wall (China)

The city of Petra (Jordania)

Christ the Redeemer (Brazil)

The Machu Picchu (Peru)

Chichen Itza (Mexico)

The Colosseum (Roma)

Taj Mahal (India)

Learn more about the seven moderns wonders.

What role has UNESCO played in the choice?

Absolutely none. UNESCO, which is responsible for inventorying and promoting and protecting World Heritage, has had absolutely no role whatsoever. The establishment of this new list was a private decision of a Swiss businessman, Bernard Weber, who set up a foundation, the "New Seven Wonders Foundation" to launch this great international competition. But neither the sites presented nor the final choice was made in agreement with UNESCO, which rather had to defend itself of any partisan interest in this project.

Learn more about the seven moderns wonders.

How were the sites chosen?

They were chosen democratically, since everyone on Earth could vote for one of the 21 sites chosen. But the system was misled because the sites actually selected were the ones that received the most votes, but some countries have multiplied the calls to vote with their population, which has not been done by others. In addition to the introduction of automatic systems or reimbursement of calls by the governments of the said countries. The result is a choice oriented, but which nevertheless corresponds to a reality, that of a list of monuments that all could claim to be on this list.

Learn more about the seven moderns wonders.